My Computer Screen is the Truth, the Whole Truth and Nothing But.

customer-service.gif

Here’s a brief play by play of my phone conversation with a Sprint Customer Service Rep (CSR). The skinny is that they shipped my phone to Fort Worth instead of Austin.

CSR: Thanks for calling… how may I help you?

Me: You shipped the phone to my mom, can you send it to me or give me credit to offset the extra shipping charges?

CSR: My computer shows that we haven’t even shipped it yet.

Me: I have a tracking number from UPS. The UPS website says it was delivered yesterday. Plus my mom has the package.

CSR: Let me verify with shipping. Hold please.

Holding….

CSR: My computer and shipping both say that we haven’t even shipped the phone yet.

Me: I have a UPS tracking number, which you provided me off your website. The tracking number says it was delivered yesterday. My mom has the phone.

CSR: Are you telling me that the information you got some some website is more accurate and reliable than my computer?

Me: I’m telling you that my mom has my phone in her hands.

CSR: So what can I do for you?

Me: I want the phone shipped to me or credit in my account to offset the extra shipping cost.

CSR: I cannot schedule another shipping. I can make a note that you want credit.

Me: Why can’t you give me credit?

CSR: We don’t know the shipping amount. After you have the phone shipped, call back and we’ll credit you for that amount.

Me: What guarantee do I have you will follow through with this?

CSR: I’ll put a note on your account. It will read, “Customer wants credit for shipping cost.”

Me: What’s your name and number so I can speak to you again when I call back.

CSR: My name is Carri. I don’t have a number (lie).

After 30 minutes on the phone with Carri, I decided to try again. Called again, different rep, 2 minutes later I was credited with $25.

About Jason

Christian. Husband. Father. Avid soccer fan. Born to Chinese parents. Married to an American woman. Trying to navigate through how to raise a daughter to know her Asian culture and her American heritage too. View all posts by Jason

2 responses to “My Computer Screen is the Truth, the Whole Truth and Nothing But.

  • Kathleen Copeland

    Way to triumph Jason! This lifted my spirit. I’m particularly skeptical about over-the-phone customer support (I had a three month battle with Dell). But with cell phones I usually ask for the customer retention department. Those are the folks that know about service!

Leave a Reply

