Sukkot

This year, I set out to celebrate all the feasts of the Lord. Honestly, I failed. And this last one, Sukkot, snuck up on me especially quickly. Fortunately, Jason and I were invited a friend’s house to celebrate with them. This is such a blessing, because I’m a big dork and, seriously, I have no idea how to do any of this stuff. I bought and read a book, The Feasts of the Lord, which I highly recommend. It gives a great description of the historical keeping of the feasts, and also speaks of the Messianic significance and modern observance. It is great, but incomplete. I would need to do much more research before I could actually know how to celebrate properly in my own home, which is why I was especially grateful to be able to observe others tonight.

The Feast of Tabernacles, aka the Feast of Booths (Sukkot), aka the Feast of the Ingathering, is really intriguing. And, it has a lot of names! For seven days, followers of YHWH are commanded to live in booths in order to remember that the Israelites lived in tabernacles when YHWH brought them out of Egypt. In the middle of the harvest season, it is also a beautiful way to remember YHWH’s provision and that it is by his hand alone that we are given food to eat and water to drink. In fact, it was during this very feast that Yeshua stood up and proclaimed that if any one was thirsty, he or she should come to him. (John 7:37-39)

There’s much more fun and interesting information that could be shared about Sukkot, but we’re all beginners here, myself included. So, for now, here’s:

–a very brief overview complete with basic instructions on how to build a sukkah (Hopefully, next year you will be able to come to our backyard to see this in person!)

–some verses from Zechariah 14, in anticipation of when all nations will celebrate Sukkot together… or else!

Ushpizin, a (supposedly) heart-warming movie set during Sukkot (I only say supposedly because I haven’t seen it yet. But I plan to!)

Leave a Reply

