Securing the Egg

892363-001

In my first blog entry “The Prosperity Gospel“, I shared my foolishness and struggle with being the bread-maker in the family without so much trusting God’s own provision for His children. The burden of providing for my family is one that I take very seriously perhaps even to a fault. I have resided to myself that even if I fail at everything else in life, I must leave my family well taken care of. I believe that part of my role as a husband and maybe father, is to ensure the provisions of my family are well in hand. If anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for his immediate family, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever. – 1 Timothy 5:8.

It is because of that I implore every married man to have life insurance, whether they have children or not. The last thing any wife would want to think about should their husband depart from this world is money. So to make sure that is the last thing TJ will think about, I took out a substantial life insurance policy at a young age while I was still very healthy. It gives me great peace of mind knowing that when I’m flying around the country for work or just simply driving somewhere, that should anything happen to me TJ will not have to worry about making the mortgage payment and that she will not be forced to scramble to make ends meet.

I also take saving for the latter stages of my life very seriously as well. People call that age “retirement” but I don’t believe I was designed by God to “retire”. I cannot imagine the ultimate purpose of my life is to save money so I can relax on a beach somewhere for the last days of my life. I save aggressively for those years simply because I know my earning potential when I’m wearing depends as opposed to now will be vastly different. We save together as a family aggressively for the same reason why I have life insurance. The odds are against me outliving TJ and my insurance policy is only a blanket of security for my “prime years”. It is our intention that by the time my life insurance policy expires, we would have saved enough and be out of debt (no more mortgage) that we will no longer need insurance.

The tension of course is where do we draw the line between hoarding and being wise with saving. The simplest way we’ve handled it was to give at least 10% of anything that we get away first before we do anything else. Granted we haven’t always succeeded in doing so every time but it relieves us of debating back and forth constantly over every financial decision. If God wants us to give more, He’ll let us know and we’ll be more than happy to oblige. It is of course, easy to oblige when we remember that everything we have is simply with us on loan. At some point in time, we will have to return it all and give an account to how we spent it and by that point I hope with all my heart that God will say to me, “Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your Master’s happiness!”

Pull Up Update: Day 20 – 30 Pull Ups. 9970 to go.

About Jason

Remote worker. Stats and analysis nerd. Soccer lover. View all posts by Jason

2 responses to “Securing the Egg

Leave a Reply

