His Pleasure

Eric Liddell remains to be one of my favorite athletes of all time, but not because he was a world-record holder for an event that he trained mere months before the Olympic heat. In fact, my fascination with Liddell stems from his famous quote, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.” God did not make me fast or skilled like an Olympian, but I believe that my enjoyment of soccer stems from the very same mentality that of Liddell’s. When I step onto a soccer pitch every Saturday, I am giddy from the inside out. I am so excited about the prospect of playing soccer that I often feel a sense of guilt for indulging and enjoying something so far removed from anything “spiritual”. But the truth is, God created soccer for me to enjoy because He loves me. So when ESPN decides to showcase the World Baseball Crap instead of featuring Manchester United against Inter Milan on Wednesday, all I have to say is ESPN is evil for removing an opportunity for me to enjoy God’s pleasure. Jerks.

Pull-Up Update – 675.

About Jason

Remote worker. Stats and analysis nerd. Soccer lover. View all posts by Jason

One response to “His Pleasure

Leave a Reply

