The Old & New

Passover

Leviticus 23:1-2
1 The LORD said to Moses, 2 “Speak to the Israelites and say to them: ‘These are my appointed feasts, the appointed feasts of the LORD, which you are to proclaim as sacred assemblies.”

One of the more enjoyable things in our marriage has been the trial and error process for us as a family to incorporate meaning traditions that hold signifiance to us and what we as a famiy would like to instill to our children one day. One of the most enjoyable “new” traditions for me has been the old feast of Passover.

Our hearts desire was to value the same things God values, whether it be missions, caring for the poor or the joy of children. TJ had been sharing the amazing feast of Passover to me over the years, but I commonly met it with hesitancy. “Yes, it was something Jesus celebrated, but there is no relevancy of it in my life right now. It was just a cultural celebration for that time.” Or so I thought.

After participating in a Seder last year, I learned that Passover is my kind of tradition to celebrate. I won’t go into all the details of Passover, but would like to share that the week of Passover is a time for me to personally reflect and confess my sins. That is also carried out by us “fasting” from yeast which is symbolic of sin in the Scriptures. During the Seder, every piece of food eaten represents something significant and meaningful to remind us of God’s goodness and love for us.

Last year, I was a passive learner and participant of Passover. This year, I’d like to take a more of a lead role and rather than wait for TJ to remind me of the coming feasts, I’d like to anticipate them for myself and for my family. This year, we hope to have our own Seder to remember the great sacrifice of Jesus for my undeserving soul and to celebrate the joy of our restored relationship with YHWH.

About Jason

Christian. Husband. Father. Avid soccer fan. Born to Chinese parents. Married to an American woman. Trying to navigate through how to raise a daughter to know her Asian culture and her American heritage too. View all posts by Jason

Leave a Reply

