Leap of Faith

Leap of Faith

God never ceases to amaze me with what He does either through me or the people around me. Being in Hawaii for Summer Project has already stretched many of our students and myself to our limits but God has been alongside us every step of the way. Two students in particular surprised and inspired me last night.

Meet Aaron and Clay. As I was looking for a place to sit in the school cafeteria, I noticed a guy sitting by himself, looking fairly lonely so I opted to join him and break bread together. Clay and Aaron joined me within a few seconds and we struck up a friendly conversation. After a few minutes, both Clay and Aaron left and never returned back to the table. I was able to strike up a very spiritual and philosophical discussion with my new friend, Yung from South Korea. After sharing my story and hearing his experience with Christianity, we parted ways and I went out looking for the two guys that seeminly had desserted me.

To my surprise, they were both sitting at different tables with two different strangers, doing the exact same thing I had been doing; just being friendly and loving on other students.  I should note that they both just finished their Freshmen years at college and are already showing incredible signs of being strong leaders for furthering God’s Kingdom. I was very encouraged to see them both take strong initiative to continue doing ministry even when they had the chance to just spend their dinner time with familiar friends.

Both Aaron and Clay walked away from their conversations feeling confident and excited about ministry. I am proud that they took that simple leap of faith of just sitting down with a total stranger and engaging with them. God has blessed us with quality guys on this trip.

About Jason

Remote worker. Stats and analysis nerd. Soccer lover. View all posts by Jason

Leave a Reply

