Robbing God

When I was in college I had a great mentor that taught me how to walk with God, read my Bible, build computers, work a grill and even how to ask girls out on dates. We would spend many evenings together talking about life and I got to observe how he did life. One summer I noticed that he had a stack of letters on his desk from other students and friends who were going on a summer mission trip somewhere. I asked him how he was going to decide who he was going to support, thinking that he had some elaborate method to figuring out who would be the most “effective” and who would bring more bang for his buck. I was quickly humbled when he looked at me and said, “I never say no to anyone who asks. If they are doing God’s work, it is my responsibility to support them, even if it’s only for $10.”

That was probably one of the most important lessons that he taught me. As I observed his life, I knew that he made a very modest salary but was also extremely generous with what he had, especially his money. I watched him pray over each person that sent him a letter as he wrote out a check for everyone. Amazed at how he could afford to do this, I had to ask him just how he was able to give so much when he had so little. He smiled at me and said, “I don’t spend very much so that I can give. It is all God’s anyway. I am just managing His money for Him.”

I could tell by the way my mentor lived that he gave up some worldly possessions in order to be in a position to bless others. I took that lesson to heart and have applied it in our own family. TJ and I will always say “yes” even if it means cutting some corners in our own personal lives. Had my mentor been wealthy, I don’t think I would’ve learned this lesson very well. What he did was give God his very best, his first fruits that which cost him something. It reminds me of the passage 2 Samuel 24:24a:

“But the king (David) replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying you for it. I will not sacrifice to the LORD my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing.”

The context here is that King David was building an altar and went to buy a threshing floor from Aranuah. Aranuah, in his moment of generosity, offered to David to take whatever He pleases and even oxen to sacrifice. But David would not accept a handout to offer as a sacrifice to God. It was against the very essence of the word “sacrifice” if it cost him nothing.

My mentor showed me a great lesson here too. I was very guilty of only giving when I had some extra cash laying around after I took care of myself first. What I was giving back to God did not require a sacrifice on my part and was certainly not costing me anything. With the economy in its current condition, the giving trend has decreased significantly and I actually believe that it has more to do with the spiritual issue of giving than it has to do with a financial issue.

Giving is never a natural response of the flesh. How many times around December did we have our parents explain to us that it is more important to give than it is to receive when we were younger? As sinful, selfish beings we are more inclined to keep and gain rather than give and sacrifice. I believe it has been incredibly unfortunate that not many of us have ever been given a proper Biblical understanding regarding stewardship. I think it is a particularly hard topic for people to hear (the Western culture is very sensitive to instructions on money) and I also think that it is a bit awkward for Pastors and those in vocational full time ministry, basically those with the most face time, to address this issue as they receive their salaries from such giving. But regardless of how it might come across and how others might feel, I believe that proper financial stewardship is an issue that needs to be addressed regularly and often.

God does not mess around when it comes to finances and giving.

“Honor the Lord from your wealth and from the first of all your produces” – Proverbs 3:9

“Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me.  ‘But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’ ‘In tithes and offerings.” – Malachi 3:8

Interestingly, God calls it “robbing” when we don’t give back to Him. Under the old law, we were required to tithe ten percent but we are no longer under the law. But the giving principal still applies, even if it isn’t a set amount or percentage. TJ and I do give at least 10% of our income not because we feel it as a requirement, or even because it’s a suggested amount but rather that is where we feel led by God. TJ was very adamant that we give at least 10%, even when our income was at poverty levels.

I would imagine that my mentor was the servant given the two talents. He wasn’t given much to work with, but whatever he did have he used for the glory of God. I imagine that in the future he will hear this: ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’ I too hope that our family will have the same privilege of hearing those same words when that time comes.

About Jason

Remote worker. Stats and analysis nerd. Soccer lover. View all posts by Jason

3 responses to “Robbing God

  • Carita

    What a great post! It’s a great reminder even to us as to where our heart is when it comes to how we view what God has blessed us with. You and TJ are true examples of this, and I am glad you had a mentor in your life to demonstrate this to you. May we all live our lives with that type of influence and affect on others!

  • Tru

    Awesome! I pray God will continue to mold yalls heart as you give generously. I truly believe there is no other blessing (outside of salvation) one can receive other than giving generously and sacrificially.

  • andrew

    Jason!

    I like reading you and tj’s posts. Thanks for sharing your wisdom with all of us. This is something that i have never thought much about. You got my mind stimulated! =)

Leave a Reply

