Target Trip #2

Target

If you need to catch up on the challenge I gave myself last week, read here.

I just returned from Target, and it was another good trip.  It would’ve been a lot better, but I was prevented from using one of my coupons, even after I read them their policy from their website.  Oh well… I will print the policy out and get that deal the next time I go.

I went and did the Kashi deal this week, and I highly suggest it!  This is even more exciting than the Fiber One promotion, in my opinion, because we eat a lot of Kashi products around here.  When you buy 5 Kashi products, you receive a $5 Target gift card.

I bought:

1 box Kashi Honey Sunshine

4 boxes of Kashi TLC bars, assorted kinds

1 2-pk of tiny composition books, in the clearance aisle for 24 cents

I used:

1 coupon for a free box of Honey Sunshine that I received off a free sample I ordered.  But, there is a $1.50 coupon here

4 printable coupons for $1.50 off any Kashi TLC product (Note: you have to use multiple computers to print this many)

My total was $5.48, and I used $5 of my gift card stash.  I totally cheated, though, because I paid the other 48cents out-of-pocket!  I needed to use my other gift card in order to make this challenge fair, but I was flustered from not being able to use my other coupons and I totally forgot.

You can make this deal really good even without the coupon I had.  If you can find a way to print 5 coupons for $1.50 off TLC bars, Target has certain ones priced at $2.77.  The other TLC bars and the cereals are $2.88.  So, if you buy all of the cheaper items, you’ll pay $6.35 and you’ll get a $5 gift card.  If you buy the more expensive products, you’ll still only pay $6.90 upfront.

You may think I’m crazy, but if I can find a way to print more coupons, I’m thinking about going back for another round.  I often take the bars with me on campus for a snack, so I go through these things pretty quickly.

I also plan to go back to get free Crystal Light On-The-Go (3pk), as mentioned here.  This time I’ll take their store policy, which you can find here.

There are TONS more deals this week, but these were the ones that I was really excited about.  To see more than you might need or want, go here and here.

Total: I still have $11.23 on gift cards, but that’s because I cheated.  Sigh.  I should have $10.75.

4 responses to “Target Trip #2

  • Lynn

    TJ, this is so hardcore, but awesome! I wish I had the dedication to do this. I think I can save soooo much money. Plus you’re getting high quality products! Fantastic!

  • Jenny

    amazing. that is all i have to say. we need to live in the same city so i can learn from you, the GURU.

  • ashley nguyen

    Mrs Poon, you are my role model!! I love your blogs about saving money!! I went out and tried it (but am not as good as you) I did save 2 dollars from the healthy choice meal! …wouldn’t printing coupons from different computers at a library on campus provide you…lots of coupons!?!?!?

    • TJ Poon

      Hey Ashley! I’m glad you’re getting to dip your toes into the deep pool of couponing – I’m still in the shallow end myself, and I will most likely stay there for a while. You can seriously go overboard here and spend way too much time looking for the next deal!
      That’s a good idea about printing at a library. The problem is that I don’t have access to the library on campus, since I’m not a student. I could use our public library, though. But so far, it’s worked out pretty well to beg my friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

