My Guilt Free Purchase

For the past year I’ve been eying those little automated cleaning robots, the Roombas. I have a couple of friends who have one and have spoken very highly of how efficiently they work to keep their floors clean. I had been hesitant to get one because of the price, but that was until last week. I walked into Costco after soccer practice, went straight for the cleaning aisle and dropped it right into my cart and checked out without a moment’s hesitation. TJ and I are still trying to name it, as it’s kind of like a pet to us now except it cleans up after us rather than the other way around.

What stood out to me about that transaction was that I walked out of Costco without a sense of guilt. Yes, I spent 12 months looking at different models, pricings, weighing the pros and the cons of whether to get one or not. Three months into this process, I decided that I would like one but only for the right model for the right price. I found the model that I wanted, and decided I wanted to pay only around $250 for one (regular retail was $450). So we socked away small amounts into our savings towards our Home Upkeep envelope every month, in hopes that one day we’d be able to find this little guy at a hugely discounted price.

What made this purchase so guilt free had everything to do with how I paid for it. It wasn’t on a whim and it certainly wasn’t on a credit card for me to pay back over time. We had methodically saved for 9 months and stood firm on our price. I used to have buyer’s remorse over many purchases that I would make, whether it was $10 for sushi or $100 for a pair of running shoes. Ever since TJ and I have been on a budget, every purchase we’ve made had been planned and saved for ahead of time. In the end, I walk away from the store without any guilt, the item paid for in full and usually with a great deal because I waited.

Now I just need to name this awesome little cleaning robot…

About Jason

Christian. Husband. Father. Avid soccer fan. Born to Chinese parents. Married to an American woman. Trying to navigate through how to raise a daughter to know her Asian culture and her American heritage too. View all posts by Jason

2 responses to “My Guilt Free Purchase

Leave a Reply

