Recent Deals

200133812-001

Yesterday I went to Target and Walgreens for my first “deal”  shopping in a couple of weeks.  I’m running out of steam on my Target gift card, and this shopping trip was a bit of a bummer.  I needed a couple of things and didn’t have good coupons or deals for those, so I ended up spending more. The one good deal I did was on lightbulbs.

I bought a Select GE Energy Smart CFL Light Bulb for $2.39
-Used printable $1/2 GE coupon (or from the 10/4 SmartSource insert)
-Used Target $2/1 GE coupon

Got it free!

And, I got Healthy Harvest pasta again.  They are $1.07 each and I used this printable coupon for $1/2, making them only 57cents each.

I bought some other stuff… just a couple of random things that we needed, so I ended up spending $6.32 from my gift card and I only have $1.53 left.  I’m so sad as my run is almost over!  But so far, the value of what I’ve bought has been $80.11 yet I’ve only spent $8.47.  Almost a 90% savings!  Not too shabby…

These are not things I need right now, but there are great deals at Target on cereal here and on Listerine here.

Though my Target trip was less than amazing, I made up for it at Walgreens!  They have an INCREDIBLE deal on Almay mascara right now!  I’ve heard rumors that it doesn’t work everywhere but for the local people, it’s worked for me at 2 locations.  When you walk into Walgreens, there is usually a stand with the weekly ad and a coupon book for the month.  November’s coupon book contains a $4 coupon for Almay One Coat mascara.

This mascara is on sale currently as Buy 1, Get 1 Half-Off BUT at many places, it is actually ringing up as B1G1 FREE!  So, when you purchase 2 tubes of mascara at $6.99 each, the register will automatically deduct $6.99.  Then, if you use the $4 coupon, it will automatically take $4 off twice (once for each mascara) for a deduction of $8.  That will give you the mascara for FREE plus a bit of overage.

So I bought the mascara plus:

Hunt’s Tomatoes Sauce – 3/$1 (with coupon in the weekly ad)
-Used $1/3 Hunts printable coupon
Free!

Gillette Body Wash & Deodorant on sale 2/$8 (the Hubs needed both of these items, after I made him ditch his old body wash which smelled like poo… He was like, “Really?!?  You tell me this after a year of using this stuff?”)
-Used Buy Deodorant Get Body Wash Free coupon from Proctor & Gamble insert on 11/1
-Use $1/1 Gillette coupon (same insert)
-Got $2 register reward (RR)

I bought a few other grocery items and ended up paying just $2.99 out-of-pocket, after I used a $2 RR I already had.  My savings was $29.44!

THEN, I went to another Walgreens and did the mascara deal again and then bought even more grocery items because I had a $6RR that expired that day.  On that trip, I spent $0.97 out-of-pocket and saved $22.48.  Those two trips more than made up for my bummer Target run!

In addition, I plan on doing this awesome money-making deal on Lubriderm.  Check it out!

Leave a Reply

