(Her) Party

This past Saturday night, I threw Mr. Poon a surprise graduation party.

This may confuse you, since you probably know that Jason graduated a few years ago.  Well, here’s the deal: my sweet husband has never attended any of his graduations.

He didn’t go to his High School graduation, and we got married the day before he was supposed to walk at UT.

To be honest, I don’t think he missed out on much by not being at the actual ceremonies.  Especially at UT.  3+ hours just to spend 7.5 seconds on stage and hear them mispronounce your Chinese middle name?  Not super-appealing.

(Besides, he probably had a little more fun doing what we were doing the day after our wedding.  I’m just saying.)

Sadly, though, that meant he also never had a party.  Before we got married, he told me about this really great one he went to which was a crawfish boil.  Since he knew the graduation party was out due to our wedding, he wanted to do this as a bachelor party.  However, we got married on a Friday and the timing just didn’t work out since his groomsmen were mostly in school or working.

From his descriptions, I already knew exactly what kind of party he would want and how he would want it to “feel”.  I thought of the idea sometime this past fall, and had been planning to surprise him with it since then.

Now, did Jason have a hole in his heart from not having done these things before?  I doubt it.

I went through all the effort, though, because I wanted him to know that he is worth celebrating.

I understand that in many families, graduating from High School is pretty much expected.  There is little fanfare, which I get.  I was pretty sure he didn’t need to be congratulated for finishing the 12th grade, but this party was about more than that.

It was about getting together with good friends and bonding over something we all have in common: loving Jason and enjoying who he is.  We were able to celebrate more than his stunning intellectual achievements – we celebrated him.

He has blessed my life beyond belief over the past five years, and this was only the tip of the iceberg of how I hope to show him my love for him for as long as God allows.

We had a great time, and you can see the photographic evidence here.

3 responses to “(Her) Party

  • trntm

    Looks like the party was a blast, great job TJ on honoring and celebrating your husband, so sweet.

    ~Tiffany

  • Carita

    We are so glad to have been able to be a part of this great celebration. I just want you both to know that you are both worth celebrating, and it was our privilege to get to celebrate this occasion with you guys. 🙂

  • truman

    What was it that yall were doing that was just a little more fun? I’m just asking.

Leave a Reply

