I Love Scams

I realize that scams that come through your email inbox can be potentially very dangerous and destructive, but for the most part, I find them to be very amusing. I actually look forward to getting them for a good laugh and if the opportunity presents itself, I will actually respond and try to strike up a ridiculous dialogue with them that ultimately goes nowhere. The other day I received one such scam in my inbox that I could not ignore and wanted to share with you just how awesome it is.

Here are the two images of what they sent: and

Please note, I did not edit the files in any way. Yes, they sent this to me in a form of a jpg. And yes, the titles for these two files (READ THIS LETTER CAREFULLY) is how they originally named the files.

First, I must admit that I am impressed that they spelled “Congratulations” correctly. Much props to them, but after that it’s a giant mess.

This letter is from Government Accredited Licensed Lottery Promoters/ Prize Award Department, Microsoft Corporation Worldwide, British, South African 2010 FIFA World Cup Bid Online Game?!?! Huh?! Obviously their first mistake here is putting the whole thing in all caps. But their fatal mistake was “British”. British?! Helloooooooo? Microsoft is an American company. Good try though.

I especially love how personal they are. “Dear Winner”. =) How did they know that “Winner” is my middle name? It’s a good start, but then the grammar just gets crazy. I’m the winner of their annual MS-Word lotto lottery??? I’m the winner of a lotto lotto? Winner of a lottery lottery? That’s just silly, but not as silly as the date in the above image. “14th of July 14, 2010”. First I am thrown off by the sudden uncapping of the word “July”, but then I completely lose it when they held something on the 14th of the 14th. I think this might be some British, South African way of saying July 28th. But I could be wrong.

I don’t even know what to say, but US$M 1,900,000 is a butt load of money.

Has Canada been notified that they’re a continent?

Of course there are plenty of typos to make fun of. Examples would be the uses of commas and a question marks for a period. But my two favorites are as follows:

First the signature doesn’t even match the name, but what is the deal with the assuring Drive Time style “Approved” stamp? And lastly, if all the above nonsense and gibberish wasn’t convincing that this is a legitimate program, nothing screams credibility than two older white gentlemen engaged in a full frontal hug:

About Jason

Christian. Husband. Father. Avid soccer fan. Born to Chinese parents. Married to an American woman. Trying to navigate through how to raise a daughter to know her Asian culture and her American heritage too. View all posts by Jason

One response to “I Love Scams

Leave a Reply

