Merry Christmas!

We are having a low-key Christmas.  For the first time ever, we’re spending Christmas in our own home.  We exchanged presents this morning and are now listening to Christmas music and researching saving vehicles for Eden’s college fund.  Ok, Jason is researching saving vehicles.  (Like I even needed to make that clarification.)  We have a special dinner planned for this evening but, other than that, our Christmas is going to be spent just relaxing and spending time together.

Today is a pretty sad day for me.  I suspect this season will be bittersweet for a long time, perhaps the rest of my life.  It hit me yesterday that I’ll never celebrate a holiday in my childhood home again.  I have sweet memories of our family Christmases there.  And I especially miss my parents’ presence at Eden’s first Christmas.

Sigh.

On a happier note, I think it’s especially poignant to have a baby around Christmas.  It gives me an entirely new perspective on how Mary & Joseph felt… well, minus the whole “God’s son” thing  🙂  I do think about the way Mary gazed at her little newborn, though, and wondered what life with him would bring.

Emmanuel – God with us.

“Mild He lays His glory by, Born that man no more may die.”

Hallelujah!  We pray that your Christmas is blessed as you ponder and reflect on the wonder of a “with-us” God.

Leave a Reply

